header-home.jpg

Geopark Ries

The Geopark Ries represents an absolute top-rank, special geological feature. The “Ries event”—the impact of a meteorite (asteroid) about 14.5 million years ago—affects the region even today. The impact crater Nördlinger Ries is the best preserved crater in Europe. The shallow crater basin has a diameter of 25 km and is largely not forested. The crater basin and up to 150-m-high rim are very visible in the landscape. The Ries Crater is also exceptional because it is densely populated.                  

The Geopark Ries has an area of about 1,800 km² and is a network extending beyond state and district borders. The larger part of the Geopark area is in Bavaria, a smaller part is in Baden-Württemberg. In total, five districts with 53 communities are involved.  The design of the Geopark is a complex development process.

View of crater basin / rim
View of crater basin / rim
On the edge of the Ries
On the edge of the Ries
Marienhöhe Nördlingen, part of the inner crater ring
Marienhöhe Nördlingen, Teil des Inneren Kraterrings
Niederhaus castle ruins on the southwest crater rim
Niederhaus castle ruins on the southwest crater rim
Wennenberg
Wennenberg
Wallersteiner Cliff
Wallersteiner Cliff
Riegelberg with Villa rustica in foreground
Riegelberg with Villa rustica in foreground
Bockberg near Harburg
Bockberg near Harburg

Setting

To display the administrative borders as well as the exact locations of administrative offices on the interactive map “Geopark Ries”—just click on the corresponding heading in the menu on the right (under Search filter). Please note that most administrative district offices are located outside the Geopark Ries. To see the contact addresses of the participating communities displayed on the interactive map, click on the respective symbol directly on the map.

The administrative district offices respective administrations are provided in the list overview.

To the interactive map

header-home.jpg

Geopark Ries

Der Geopark Ries stellt eine geologische Besonderheit ersten Ranges dar. Das „Riesereignis“, der Einschlag eines Meteoriten (Asteroiden) vor 14,5 Mio. Jahren, beeinflusst die Region bis heute. Der Einschlagskrater Nördlinger Ries ist der am besten erhaltene Krater Europas. Das flache, weitgehend unbewaldete Kraterbecken mit seinen 25 km Durchmesser und dem bis zu 150 m hohen Kraterrand sind extrem gut in der Landschaft sichtbar. Der Rieskrater ist dicht besiedelt, was ihn zusätzlich besonders auszeichnet.

Der Geopark Ries hat eine Fläche von etwa 1.800 km². Der Geopark Ries ist ein Netzwerk, das bundesland- und landkreis-übergreifend ist. Der größte Teil der Fläche liegt in Bayern, ein kleiner Teil liegt in Baden-Württemberg. Insgesamt sind 5 Landkreise mit 53 Gemeinden beteiligt. Die Ausgestaltung des Geoparks ist ein komplexer Entwicklungsprozess.

Blick Kraterbecken/Kraterrand
Blick Kraterbecken/Kraterrand
Am Rande des Ries
Am Rande des Ries
Marienhöhe Nördlingen
Marienhöhe Nördlingen, Teil des Inneren Kraterrings
Die Burgruine Niederhaus liegt am südwestlichen Kraterrand
Die Burgruine Niederhaus liegt am südwestlichen Kraterrand
Wennenberg
Wennenberg
Wallersteiner Felsen
Wallersteiner Felsen
Riegelberg mit villa rustica im Vordergrund
Riegelberg mit villa rustica im Vordergrund
Bockberg bei Harburg
Bockberg bei Harburg

Gebietskulisse

Der Geopark Ries umfasst 53 Städte, Märkte und Gemeinden sowie Teilgebiete von fünf Landkreisen. Die Kartendarstellung zeigt die Lage des Geoparks Ries innerhalb der beteiligten bayerischen und baden-württembergischen Landkreise und Gemeinden.

Sobald Sie die entsprechenden Menüpunkte in der Kartendarstellung unter “Geopark Ries” markieren, können Sie sich sowohl die Verwaltungrenzen als auch die genaue Lage der Vewaltungssitze anzeigen lassen – wobei die Landratsämter meist außerhalb des Geoparks Ries liegen. Die Kontaktadressen der beteiligten Kommunen können Sie aufrufen, indem Sie die jeweiligen Symbole in der Karte anklicken.

In der Listenübersicht finden Sie den Sitz der jeweiligen Verwaltungen.

zur interaktiven Karte