Wandern an der Ruine Niederhaus (Foto: Florian Trykowski)

Settlement History and Archeology

Early Celtic Fürstensitz on the Ipf
Early Celtic Fürstensitz on the Ipf

The Ries is regarded as a treasure trove of pre- and early history and exhibits an impressive continuity of settlement: from the Paleolithic through the Roman and Alemannic periods to state development of the Middle Ages to the early modern period. Nobility, cities, monasteries and churches created a multifaceted cultural diversity. The place names that end in “–ingen” and “–heim” bear testimony to the Alemannic and Franconian settlement history of the Ries. The settlement history of the Eastern Alb District that extends into the Ries is closely associated with the history of Nördlingen.

The flat plain of the fertile Ries basin and its favorable location at the intersection of spheres of cultural influence were prerequisites for early settlement activity since the Middle Paleolithic Age and for the development of a self-contained cultural environment.

In the Celtic Hallstatt period, on the Ipf hill of the Swabian Alb, an important Fürstensitz (“princely seat”) arose. As the center of an entire cultural province, its influence certainly extended into the Ries plain. The Ipf belongs to an exclusive group of just about 20 of these significant settlements in Central Europe.

Great Ofnet Cave on the Riegelberg on the Shepherd’s Way
Great Ofnet Cave on the Riegelberg on the Shepherd’s Way
Roman flute player, figure found near Holheim
Roman flute player, figure found near Holheim
Celt
Considered one of the oldest artifacts of the Ries: 9-cm-long hand axe from the foot of the Rollenberg near Großsorheim
Excavation of remains of Celtic settlement on the Ipf
Excavation of remains of Celtic settlement on the Ipf
Villa rustica (Roman agricultural estate) near Holheim, 2nd -3rd century AD
Villa rustica (Roman agricultural estate) near Holheim, 2nd -3rd century AD
Reconstruction of skull burial in Nördlingen’s City Museum
Reconstruction of skull burial in Nördlingen’s City Museum
View of the Ries from altitude of about 3,000 m (detail)
View of the Ries from altitude of about 3,000 m (detail)
Baldern Castle
Baldern Castle

There are many reasons to refer to the Ries and its environs as a land of fortresses and castles:  preserved fortresses and castles as well as castle stables and ruins testify to the enormous wealth of the former lordships, only seldom encountered.  Highlights include Harburg, one of the largest, oldest and best preserved fortresses of southern Germany, Baldern Castle, the ruins of Niederhaus, and also the Residence Castle of Oettingen with its precious stucco and famous ballroom.

Among the most important church-monastic sites are the former Benedictine monasteries of Auhausen and Mönchsdeggingen, Cistercian convents Kirchheim and Klosterzimmern, Carthusian monastery Christgarten, city monasteries in Nördlingen, Donauwörth and Wemding as well as numerous churches—often with decorations important for their art history as well as aesthetic value—in towns and villages.

Discover the attractions in the Geopark Ries

Harburg Castle, one of the largest fortresses in southern Germany
Harburg Castle, one of the largest fortresses in southern Germany
Reimlingen Castle
Reimlingen Castle
Maria Brünnlein Wemding
Maria Brünnlein Wemding
Residence Castle Oettingen
Residence Castle Oettingen
Weiherweg (“pond way“), Mönchsdeggingen (Florian Trykowski)
Weiherweg (“pond way“), Mönchsdeggingen (Florian Trykowski)
Carthusian Monastery Christgarten
Carthusian Monastery Christgarten

Cities and towns played a significant role in shaping the cultural landscape: the former Free Imperial Cities of Nördlingen, Bopfingen und Donauwörth (until 1608); the former Residence Towns of Oettingen and Wemding (Bavarian since 1467); and the castle and town of Harburg, which fell to Oettingen in the mid-13th century and was a residence from 1493 to 1549.

Market Square, Bopfingen am Ipf
Market Square, Bopfingen am Ipf
The former Free Imperial City Nördlingen completely encircled by the preserved wall with walkable parapet
The former Free Imperial City Nördlingen completely encircled by the preserved wall with walkable parapet
Market Square, Wemding
Market Square, Wemding

Witnesses to Settlement History

The Geopark Ries hosts a large number of pre- and early history archeological monuments. Stone Age caves attest to the fascinating past of the Ries basin—as do the Celtic Fürstensitz, ramparts and burnt offering sites of the Metal Ages.  In addition there are abundant remains from Roman and Alemannic sites in the Geopark Ries. All sites are noted as points on the interactive map—just zoom in to identify the exact location of the archeological site. Click on the symbol to open an info-window with further information and a route description.

Search options

72 results
Location, Address 
Search term 
Town 
Category

lauschtour-rieskrater--22-von-32.jpg

Besiedlungsgeschichte und Archäologie

Frühkeltischer Fürstensitz auf dem Ipf
Frühkeltischer Fürstensitz auf dem Ipf

Das Ries gilt als eine Schatzkammer der Vor- und Frühgeschichte und weist eine beeindruckende Siedlungskontinuität auf: Von der Altsteinzeit über die Römer- und Alamannenzeit bis hin zur Landesentwicklung des Mittelalters und der Frühen Neuzeit. Adel, Städte, Klöster und Kirchen schufen eine facettenreiche kulturelle Vielfalt. Die Orte, die auf  -ingen und -heim enden, verweisen auf die alamannische und fränkische Besiedlungsgeschichte des Rieses. Die Siedlungsgeschichte des in das Ries reichenden Teiles des Ostalbkreises ist eng mit der Geschichte des Nördlinger Rieses verbunden.

Die flache Ebene des fruchtbaren Rieskessels und die günstige Lage im Schnittpunkt kultureller Kräftefelder waren die Voraussetzungen für eine frühe Siedlungstätigkeit seit der Mittleren Altsteinzeit und für die Entwicklung eines in sich abgeschlossenen Kulturraumes.

In der keltischen Hallstattzeit entstand auf dem Ipf, einem Zeugenberg der Schwäbischen Alb, ein bedeutender Fürstensitz als Zentrum einer ganzen Kulturprovinz, dessen Bedeutung sicher weit in die Riesebene hineinreichte. Der Berg gehört als Fürstensitz in den exklusiven Kreis von etwa 20 solcher bedeutender Anlagen in Mitteleuropa.

Eingang zur Großen Ofnethöhle
Eingang zur Großen Ofnethöhle, Tiefe ca. 17 m (Erste Nutzung ca. 40.000 v. Chr.)
Röm. Flötenspieler aus Holheim
Röm. Flötenspieler aus Holheim
Faustkeil
Der neun Zentimeter lange Faustkeil vom Fuße des Rollenbergs bei Großsorheim gilt als eines der ältesten Artefakte des Rieses.
Ausgrabung keltischer Siedlungsreste am Ipf
Ausgrabung keltischer Siedlungsreste am Ipf
Villa rustica (römischer Gutshof) bei Holheim, 2./3. Jh. n. Chr
Villa rustica (römischer Gutshof) bei Holheim, 2./3. Jh. n. Chr
Schädelrekonstruktion im Stadtmuseum Nördlingen
Schädelrekonstruktion im Stadtmuseum Nördlingen
Blick auf das Ries aus ca. 3.000 m Höhe (Ausschnitt)
Blick auf das Ries aus ca. 3.000 m Höhe (Ausschnitt)
Schloss Baldern
Schloss Baldern

Mit guter Begründung kann man das Ries und sein Umland als ein Land der Burgen und Schlösser bezeichnen: Burgställe, Burgruinen und die heute noch erhaltenen Burgen und Schlösser bezeugen einen enormen Reichtum an ehemaligen Herrensitzen, wie er nur selten anzutreffen ist. Hervorzuheben sind die Harburg, eine der größten, ältesten und besterhaltenen Burgen Süddeutschlands, Schloss Baldern, Burgruine Niederhaus, aber auch das einstige Residenzschloss Oettingen mit seinen wertvollen Stuckarbeiten und dem weithin bekannten Festsaal.

Zu dem bedeutenden kirchlich-klösterlichen Erbe gehören neben den ehemaligen Benediktinerklöstern Auhausen und Mönchsdeggingen, den Zisterzienserinnenklöstern Kirchheim und Klosterzimmern, dem Kartäuserkloster Christgarten und den Stadtklöstern in Nördlingen, Donauwörth und Wemding auch die zahlreichen Kirchen in den Dörfern und Städten mit ihren kunstgeschichtlich zum Teil sehr wertvollen Ausstattungen.

Sehenswürdigkeiten im Geopark Ries entdecken

Schloss Harburg, eine der größten Burgen Süddeutschlands
Schloss Harburg, eine der größten Burgen Süddeutschlands
Kloster Heilig-Kreuz Donauwörth
Kloster Heilig-Kreuz Donauwörth
Maria Brünnlein Wemding
Maria Brünnlein Wemding
Residenzschloss Oettingen
Residenzschloss Oettingen
Klosterkirche Mönchsdeggingen
Klosterkirche Mönchsdeggingen
Kloster Kirchheim
Kloster Kirchheim
Kartäuserkloster Christgarten
Kartäuserkloster Christgarten

Von besonderer Bedeutung für die Gestaltung der Kulturlandschaft waren die Städte: Die ehemals Freien Reichsstädte Nördlingen, Bopfingen und Donauwörth (bis 1608) ebenso wie die einstige Residenzstadt Oettingen oder die seit 1467 bayerische Stadt Wemding. Dazu zählt auch die Burgstadt Harburg, die Mitte des 13. Jahrhunderts oettingisch wurde und von 1493 bis 1549 Residenzort war.

Marktplatz Bopfingen am Ipf
Marktplatz Bopfingen am Ipf
Die ehemals Freie Reichsstadt Nördlingen mit vollständig erhaltener, rundum begehbarer Stadtmauer
Die ehemals Freie Reichsstadt Nördlingen mit vollständig erhaltener, rundum begehbarer Stadtmauer
Marktplatz Wemding
Marktplatz Wemding

Zeugen der Besiedlungsgeschichte

Der Geopark Ries beherbergt in großer Zahl vor- und frühgeschichtliche Bodendenkmale. Die steinzeitlichen Höhlen etwa zeugen von einer lebhaften Vergangenheit des Riesbeckens – ebenso die keltischen Fürstensitze, Wallanlagen und Brandopferstätten der Metallzeit. Zudem finden sich zahlreiche Überreste römischer und alamannischer Stätten im Geopark Ries. Sämtliche Orte werden in der Kartendarstellung als Punkte aufgeführt, beim Hineinzoomen erkennen Sie die genaue Lage der archäologischen Stätten. Sobald Sie die Symbole anklicken, öffnet sich ein Infofenster mit näheren Informationen und einer Anfahrtsbeschreibung.