header-home.jpg

The Formation of the Ries Crater

The formation of the Ries Crater explained in six phases
The formation of the Ries Crater explained in six phases

About 14.5 million years ago, a cosmic body races toward Earth. This asteroid, about 1 kilometer in diameter, is accompanied by a satellite about 150 meters in diameter (figure 1). Traveling over 70,000 km/h, both crash into the Alb highlands and create two craters with diameters of 25 and 4 km, respectively: the Nördlinger Ries and the Steinheimer Basin.

At the point of impact the pressure reaches several million bar and the temperature more than 20,000 ˚C (figure 2). The asteroid and parts of the struck rock vaporize or melt. A pressure front (shock wave) races at supersonic speeds through the deeper lying rock (figure 3), changing the rock and leading to the formation of high-pressure minerals like coesite, stishovite and diamond. In the first seconds after the impact, a crater forms that is 4.5 km deep (figure 4). The ejected rocky masses form a continuous blanket of ejecta (Bunte Trümmermassen) extending as far as 50 km away. At the same time a glowing cloud shoots into the atmosphere. The deep crater exists for only a few seconds. 

The floor of the crater, where rocks of the crystalline basement are exposed, rises up in the center (figure 5). At the same time, large blocks of rock slide down the steep sides, so that the crater becomes wider and the original crater rim less distinct. The central uplift collapses, forming an elevated inner ring. After just a few minutes, all rock movements end. As the glowing cloud collapses, its shattered and molten components rain down, depositing up to 100 meters of rocky mass—called Suevite—in the crater and in isolated areas outside of it (figure 6).

The Ries Crater becomes a Salt Lake

Cross section of the Ries Lake shoreline (G. Arp, Universität Göttingen)
Cross section of the Ries Lake shoreline (G. Arp, Universität Göttingen)

The inner crater ring represents the remains of the original crater rim. Huge displaced blocks (megablocks) lie between the inner crater ring (crystalline wall) and the outer crater rim. The impact extinguishes all life within a radius of more than 100 km and has a lasting effect on the landscape.  Following the impact there is no outlet in crater basin so gradually a nutrient-rich salt lake forms, in turn depositing bituminous shales and clays.  In contrast, on the shoreline and in the shallow waters of the inner crater ring, dolomitic green-algae reefs, calcareous spring deposits and fossil-rich calcareous sands form.    

The fauna includes large populations of just a few species—small salt-water snails, insect larvae, brine shrimps and ostracods—as today in salt and soda lakes in dry areas. After two million years, and right before it dries up for the last time, the Ries Lake becomes a hospitable body of water enriching habitat for numerous small mammals (bats, hares and hamsters) and birds (pelicans, flamingoes, parrots).

austausch_reliefkarte_1.jpg
Panorama map: © Galli Verlag+Vertrieb GmbH, 86558 Hohenwart, Tel. 08443-8916. Excerpts and publication only with permission from TV Allgäu/Bayerisch-Schwaben or publisher Galli Verlag
Model of Ries Crater, scale 3.7 (Ries Crater Museum Nördlingen)
Model of Ries Crater, scale 3.7 (Ries Crater Museum Nördlingen)
From green-algae dolomite reef of thread algae Cladophorites. Ehingen am Ries (G. Arp, Universität Göttingen)
From green-algae dolomite reef of thread algae Cladophorites. Ehingen am Ries (G. Arp, Universität Göttingen)
Spiralberippte Stängel von Armleuchteralgen, zusammen-geschwemmt. Nordwestlich Maihingen
Charophyte stems, Rentnerkreuz quarry, north of Maihingen, Nördlinger Ries (G. Arp, Universität Göttingen)
Die Salzwasserschnecke Hydrobia aus den fossilreichen Kalksanden des Seeufers.
Salt-water snail Hydrobia from fossil-rich calcareous sand of the lake shore. Northwest of Maihingen (G. Arp, Universität Göttingen)
Die Posthornschnecke Planorbarius aus der Aussüßungsphase des Ries-Sees.
Ramshorn snail Planorbarius from the Ries Lake’s fresh-water period. Breitenlohe (G. Arp, Universität Göttingen)
Verkalkte Fliegenlarvenhüllen aus den Quellwasserkalken
Calcified fly larva cases from calcareous spring water deposits. Ehingen am Ries (G. Arp, Universität Göttingen)
Fossilreicher Kalksand des Seeufers. Millimetergroße Muschelkrebse der Gattung Strandesia.
Fossil-rich calcareous sand of the lake shore. Millimeter-size ostracods of the genus Strandesia. Northwest of Maihingen (G. Arp, Universität Göttingen)
Dolomitisiertes Skelett eines Tausendfüßlers
Fossilized skeleton of millipede from the dolomitic green-algal reef. Ehingen am Ries (G. Arp, Universität Göttingen)

header-home.jpg

Die Entstehung des Rieskraters

einschlag1.png

Vor 14,5 Millionen Jahren rast ein etwa 1 km großer kosmischer Körper (Asteroid), begleitet von einem 150 m großen Trabanten, auf die Erde zu (Grafik 1). Beide schlagen mit einer Geschwindigkeit von über 70.000 km/h auf der Albhochfläche ein und erzeugen zwei Krater mit Durchmessern von 25 und 4 km: Das Nördlinger Ries und das Steinheimer Becken.

Am Einschlagspunkt entsteht ein Druck von mehreren Millionen bar und eine Temperatur von mehr als 20.000˚C (Grafik 2): Der Asteroid und ein Teil der getroffenen Gesteine werden verdampft und aufgeschmolzen. Eine Druckfront (Stoßwelle) rast mit Überschall durch das tiefer liegende Gestein (Grafik 3), verändert es und führt zur Bildung von Hochdruckmineralen wie Coesit, Stishovit und Diamant. In den ersten Sekunden nach dem Einschlag entsteht eine Kraterhohlform, die eine Tiefe von 4,5 km (Grafik 4) erreicht. Die ausgeschleuderten Gesteinsmassen bilden eine geschlossene Auswurfsdecke (Bunte Trümmermassen), die bis zu einer Entfernung von 50 km reicht. Gleichzeitig schießt eine heiße Glutwolke über dem Krater in die hohe Atmosphäre. Der tiefe Krater besteht nur einige Sekunden lang.

Der Kraterboden, in dem kristalline Gesteine des Grundgebirges freigelegt sind, wölbt sich im Kraterinnern auf (Grafik 5). Gleichzeitig rutschen vom steilen Kraterrand Gesteinsschollen ab und vergrößern den Krater, so dass der ursprüngliche Kraterrand immer undeutlicher wird. Der Krater kollabiert und wird flacher. Nach wenigen Minuten sind alle Gesteinsbewegungen beendet. Die Glutwolke fällt in sich zusammen und lagert sich als heiße, mehrere 100 m mächtige Gesteinsmasse – Suevit genannt – im Krater und in isolierten Bereichen außerhalb des Kraters ab (Grafik 6).

Der Rieskrater wird zum Salzsee

Schnitt durch das Kraterseeufer (G. Arp, Universität Göttingen)
Schnitt durch das Kraterseeufer (G. Arp, Universität Göttingen)

Der Innere Kraterring stellt die Reste des ursprünglichen Kraterrandes dar. Die Rutschmassen liegen als riesige Blöcke (Megablöcke) zwischen dem Inneren Kraterring (Kristalliner Wall) und dem Äußeren Kraterrand. Der Einschlag löscht alles Leben im Umkreis von mehr als 100 km aus und verändert die Landschaft nachhaltig. Nach dem Einschlag bildet sich im abflusslosen Kraterbecken schrittweise ein nährstoffreicher Salzsee, aus dem sich Ölschiefer und Tone absetzen. An seinem Ufer und an den Untiefen des Kristallinen Walls entstehen dagegen dolomitische Grünalgenriffe, kalkige Absätze von Quellen und fossilreiche Kalksande.

Die Fauna aus kleinen Salzwasserschnecken, Insektenlarven, Salinen- und Muschelkrebsen ist zwar individuenreich aber extrem artenarm, so wie es auch in Salz- und Sodaseen heutiger Trockengebiete der Fall ist. Erst während seiner Verlandung nach 2 Millionen Jahren verändert sich der Ries-See zu einem lebensfreundlichen Gewässer, welches von zahlreichen Kleinsäugern (Fledermäuse, Hasen- und Hamsterartige) und Vögeln (Pelikane, Flamingos, Papageien) besiedelt ist.

steibeck_rieskrat.jpg
Modell Rieskrater, 3,7-fach überhöht
Modell Rieskrater, 3,7-fach überhöht (Rieskrater-Museum Nördlingen)
Von der Fadenalge Cladophorites aufgebauter Grünalgen-Riffdolomit.
Von der Fadenalge Cladophorites aufgebauter Grünalgen-Riffdolomit. Ehingen am Ries (G. Arp, Universität Göttingen)
Spiralberippte Stängel von Armleuchteralgen, zusammen-geschwemmt. Nordwestlich Maihingen
Characeen - Stengel, Steinbruch am Rentnerkreuz, nördlich Maihingen, Nördlinger Ries (G. Arp, Universität Göttingen)
Die Salzwasserschnecke Hydrobia aus den fossilreichen Kalksanden des Seeufers.
Die Salzwasserschnecke Hydrobia aus den fossilreichen Kalksanden des Seeufers. Nordwestlich Maihingen (G. Arp, Universität Göttingen)
Die Posthornschnecke Planorbarius aus der Aussüßungsphase des Ries-Sees.
Die Posthornschnecke Planorbarius aus der Aussüßungsphase des Ries-Sees. Breitenlohe (G. Arp, Universität Göttingen)
Verkalkte Fliegenlarvenhüllen aus den Quellwasserkalken
Verkalkte Fliegenlarvenhüllen aus den Quellwasserkalken. Ehingen am Ries (G. Arp, Universität Göttingen)
Fossilreicher Kalksand des Seeufers. Millimetergroße Muschelkrebse der Gattung Strandesia.
Fossilreicher Kalksand des Seeufers. Millimetergroße Muschelkrebse der Gattung Strandesia. Nordwestlich Maihingen (G. Arp, Universität Göttingen)
Dolomitisiertes Skelett eines Tausendfüßlers
Dolomitisiertes Skelett eines Tausendfüßlers aus den dolomitischen Grünalgenriffen. Ehingen am Ries (G. Arp, Universität Göttingen)