Suevite in contact with Bunte Breccia in the Aumühle quarry near Oettingen

Geology and Architecture

The use of Suevite in architecture

The Suevite created by the impact of the meteorite was used for construction purposes by the Romans in the Ries and its surroundings. It was the construction material for numerous buildings in Nördlingen and its environs, especially in the Middle Ages. For example, St. George’s Church with “Daniel” is almost entirely built out of Suevite.  Whether the construction material actually originated from just one quarry (Altenbürg) is not known. 

Besides in religious buildings, the rock was also used to construct secular structures in the areas where it naturally occurred. In Nördlingen, parts of the city hall, the Baldinger gate and other gate structures as well as parts of the city fortifications (e.g., the Berger wall section) are built out of this rock.  In Nördlingen’s surrounding area, Suevite is used in the Harburg fortress and in many village churches, among others. In Munich, Suevite can be admired as a construction component in the Deutsches Museum and the building formerly the royal Bavarian Verkehrsministerium. There are even some buildings in Berlin that are constructed from Suevite.

Of special significance is the use of stable rock for design purposes. Examples include parts of the outside staircase on Nördlingen’s city hall (built in 1618 by City Master Builder Wolfgang Walberger in the late-Gothic and Renaissance styles), mid-reliefs (Schneidt’sches house) and numerous archways of buildings (Sparkasse, Schneidt’sches house, Museum “augenblick”). Many of these archways were probably also painted (Reihl’sches house, Alte Schranne).

The advantages—but also the problems—of the use of Suevite in construction are explained by its formation. The rock is ultimately sediment that formed when loose materials consolidated over time (diagenesis). Hence it can be described as “the porous, rough breaking rock has very variable consistencies as a result of irregular cracks and separating planes and zones of moderate consolidation.” (Weinig, 1987) Nevertheless it is good to work by hand.

The difficulty is its weather resistance—or rather its susceptibility to weathering. Damage from weathering can appear remarkably close to area appearing stable. Here the intensity of the mechanical consolidation and the appearance of precipitated mineralogical binding agent (calcite) play important roles. Especially the latter reacts very sensitively to changes in environmental conditions and therefore can weather easily. The results are loosening and peeling of the rock. 

St. George’s Church with “Daniel“ in Nördlingen
St. George’s Church with “Daniel“ in Nördlingen
Baldinger gate, Nördlingen
Baldinger gate, Nördlingen
City Museum in Nördlingen, columns of Suevite
City Museum in Nördlingen, columns of Suevite
Portal of Suevite
Portal of Suevite
Outdoor staircase of Nördlingen’s city hall
Outdoor staircase of Nördlingen’s city hall
Suevite is susceptible to weathering: projecting bay of Nördlingen’s city hall.
Suevite is susceptible to weathering: projecting bay of Nördlingen’s city hall.
Suevite quarry Altenbürg
Suevite quarry Altenbürg

steinweiler-1.jpg

Geologie und Architektur

Die Verwendung des Suevits in der Baukunst

Der beim Einschlag des Meteoriten entstandene Suevit wurde bereits von den Römern im Ries und Umgebung zu Bauzwecken verwendet. Besonders im Mittelalter bildete er das Baumaterial für zahlreiche Gebäude in Nördlingen und seiner Umgebung. So ist z.B. die St.-Georgs-Kirche mit dem „Daniel“ nahezu ganz aus Suevit gebaut. Ob das Baumaterial aus nur einem Steinbruch stammt (Altenbürg), ist nicht gesichert.

Neben sakralen Gebäuden wurde das Gestein aber auch zur Errichtung profaner Bauten im Umkreis seiner natürlichen Vorkommen verwendet. In Nördlingen sind Teile des Rathauses, das Baldinger Tor und andere Torbauten sowie Teile der Stadtbefestigung (z.B. Berger Mauer) aus diesem Gesteinsmaterial errichtet. In der Umgebung Nördlingens wurde Suevit unter anderem auch auf der Harburg und an vielen Dorfkirchen verbaut. In München kann man heute den Baustein Suevit am Deutschen Museum und am ehemaligen Königlich Bayerischen Verkehrsministerium bewundern. Selbst in Berlin findet man einige Gebäude, die aus Suevit errichtet wurden.

Von besonderer Bedeutung ist die Verwendung stabiler Gesteinspartien für gestalterische Zwecke. Einige Beispiele: Teile der Freitreppe des Nördlinger Rathauses (errichtet 1618 von Baumeister Wolfgang Walberger in der Formensprache der Spätgotik und der Renaissance), Halbreliefs (Schneidt´sches Haus) oder zahlreiche Torbögen an Gebäuden (Sparkasse, Schneidt´sches Haus, Museum „augenblick“). Viele dieser Torbögen wurden vermutlich aber auch übermalt (Reihl´sches Haus, Alte Schranne).

Die Vorzüge, aber auch Probleme bei der baulichen Verwendung des Suevits liegen in seiner Entstehung begründet. Das Gestein ist letztlich ein Sediment, das als Lockerprodukt entstand und mit der Zeit verfestigt wurde (Diagenese). Daraus lässt sich seine Festigkeit beschreiben: „Das poröse, rau brechende Gestein besitzt infolge unregelmäßiger Riss- und Trennflächenbildung und Zonen mäßiger Verfestigung sehr wechselhafte Festigkeiten“ (Weinig, 1987). Dennoch ist es gut von Hand bearbeitbar.

Die Problematik liegt in seiner Wetterbeständigkeit bzw. Verwitterungsanfälligkeit. Verwitterungsschäden können auf engstem Raum zusammen mit stabil erscheinenden Partien auftreten. Hierbei spielen die Intensität der mechanischen Verfestigung und das Auftreten ausgefällter mineralogischer Bindemittel (Kalzit) eine gewichtige Rolle. Gerade Letzteres reagiert sehr empfindlich auf Änderungen der Umweltbedingungen und kann deshalb leicht verwittern. Die Folgen sind Lockerung und Abschuppung des Gesteins. 

St.-Georgs-Kirche mit „Daniel“ in Nördlingen
St.-Georgs-Kirche mit „Daniel“ in Nördlingen
Baldinger Tor, Nördlingen
Baldinger Tor, Nördlingen
Stadtmuseum in Nördlingen - Säule aus Suevit
Stadtmuseum in Nördlingen - Säule aus Suevit
Portal aus Suevit
Portal aus Suevit
Freitreppe des Nördlinger Rathauses
Freitreppe des Nördlinger Rathauses
Suevit ist anfällig für Verwitterungen: Erker am Nördlinger Rathaus.
Suevit ist anfällig für Verwitterungen: Erker am Nördlinger Rathaus.
Der Suevitsteinbruch Altenbürg
Der Suevitsteinbruch Altenbürg