header-home.jpg

National Geoparks

Experience geology live

Since 2002 the GeoUnion Alfred Wegener Foundation (AWS) has evaluated and certified regions applying for the designation of National Geopark, based on the established guidelines. 

As of January 2014, the AWS panel of experts had certified 14 National Geoparks. Because the name “geopark“ is not protected, there are geoparks that are not certified and therefore have not committed to the goals and responsibilities named here.

karte_geoparks_deutschland_ggn_august_2016.jpg

National Geoparks

  • are regions with clearly defined borders.
  • provide tangible examples to make the development history of the Planet Earth understandable.
  • present unique geological phenomena to behold and experience.  
  • seek ways in which significant geological phenomena can be preserved.
  • seek ways in which a region can develop sustainably, the environment can remain intact and, nevertheless, an acceptable economic development can occur. 

In National Geoparks, the significance of geological and geomorphological processes for the form of the Earth’s surface, the distribution of natural resources, but also for land use as well as economic and cultural histories is acknowledged and made perceptible.

According to the UNESCO definition of Geoparks, a National Geopark contains a geological site (geotope) of a certain size or an ensemble of several geotopes that are of regional and national geo-scientific importance, rarity or beauty, and that can be considered representative of a landscape and its geological formation history. In addition to the geological sites there should also be archeological, environmental, historical or cultural attractions that are accessible to tourists or can be developed accordingly. A National Geopark has clearly defined borders and must be administered by a clearly defined structure. Furthermore, it must comprise a sufficiently large area in order to serve the economic development of the area. In the Geoparks, the goals of nature and environmental protection bodies should be aligned, in a socially acceptable manner, with the promotion of regional economic development.  By means of presentation, preservation and sustainable use of geological heritage, National Geoparks should contribute to the realization of the goals of the Agenda 21 (UNCED, Rio de Janeiro, 1992) and the World Summit for Sustainable Development (WSSD, Johannesburg 2002). That means, that the economic sector, especially the area of “tourism and leisure activities“ will be considered in planning.

header-home.jpg

Nationale Geoparks

Erdgeschichte live erleben

Seit 2002 ist die GeoUnion Alfred Wegener Stiftung (AWS) beauftragt, Regionen, die sich nach den Richtlinien für Nationale Geoparks bewerben, zu begutachten und zu zertifizieren.

Bis zum Januar 2014 wurden vom Expertengremium der AWS vierzehn Geoparks zertifiziert. Da der Begriff Geopark nicht geschützt ist, finden sich auch Geoparks, die nicht die Zertifizierung und sich somit auch nicht den hier genannten Ziele und Aufgaben verpflichtet haben.

karte_geoparks_deutschland_ggn_august_2016.jpg

Nationale Geoparks

  • sind klar umgrenzte Regionen.
  • machen die Entwicklungsgeschichte des Planeten Erde am konkreten Beispiel begreifbar.
  • bieten einzigartige geologische Phänomene zum Anschauen und Erleben.
  • suchen Wege, wie bedeutende geologische Erscheinungen bewahrt werden können.
  • suchen Wege, wie sich eine Region nachhaltig entwickeln kann, wie die Umwelt intakt bleiben und dennoch eine verträgliche wirtschaftliche Entwicklung stattfinden kann.

In Nationalen Geoparks wird die Bedeutung geologischer und geomorphologischer Prozesse für die Gestalt der Erdoberfläche, die Verteilung natürlicher Ressourcen, aber auch für die Landnutzung sowie die Wirtschafts- und Kulturgeschichte bewusst und „erlebbar“ gemacht.

Entsprechend der UNESCO-Definition für Geoparks enthält ein Nationaler Geopark geologische Sehenswürdigkeiten (Geotope) beliebiger Größe oder ein Ensemble mehrerer Geotope, die von regionaler und nationaler geowissenschaftlicher Bedeutung, Seltenheit oder Schönheit sind und als repräsentativ für eine Landschaft und deren geologische Entstehungsgeschichte gelten können. Zusätzlich zu den geologischen sollen auch archäologische, ökologische, historische oder kulturelle Sehenswürdigkeiten enthalten sein, die touristisch erschlossen sind oder entsprechend entwickelt werden können. Ein Nationaler Geopark hat klar definierte Grenzen und muss in einer klar definierten Struktur verwaltet werden. Darüber hinaus weist er eine hinreichend große Fläche auf, um auch der Wirtschaftsentwicklung vor Ort dienen zu können. Denn in den Geoparks sollen sich die Ziele des Natur- und Umweltschutzes mit der Förderung regionaler Wirtschaftsentwicklung sozialverträglich verbinden. Nationale Geoparks sollen durch Präsentation, Erhaltung und nachhaltige Nutzung des geologischen Erbes zur Verwirklichung der Ziele der Agenda 21 (UNCED, Rio de Janeiro, 1992) und des World Summit for Sustainable Development (WSSD, Johannesburg 2002) beitragen. Das heißt, dass als Wirtschaftssektor vor allem der Bereich „Tourismus und Freizeitgestaltung“ in der Planung berücksichtigt wird.